Top 5 ways to Take Notes (in real life)!

Taking notes is important, but can be irritating. It’s hard to know where to start and hard to know exactly what to write. We often fall into a trap when your teacher is teaching because it feels like you’ll be able to remember every word that he/she speaks. Not realizing that we forget what’s been said minutes after we leave the environment. The toughest part is wrapping your head around what exactly to take notes on. What’s important? How I can write it quicker? Here are some tips on how to take notes from a guy (me) that had to learn the hard way. It may take a little time to get into a system that fits YOU, but don’t give up on it. Taking Notes will be valuable to you for years to come.
1. Take Notes Seriously. I had to tell myself, “I’m going to take notes today. Good Notes!” I’m going to write it all down.
Now of course I couldn’t write everything down so I ended up doing this.
2. Active Listening – I made it a point to move as close to the teacher as I could, so that I could remove any interruptions from what I was determined to do. I paid attention to the teachers every (important) word. I asked him/her to make things clear, to slow down, or to repeat things that I’d gotten behind on. This is the most important part of note taking.
Then I would
3. Write the most important things. Names of people, Dates, keywords & definitions, etc. I wrote it all down word for word. Teachers will give you leading phrases like, “This will be on the test.” or “This is very important.” That stuff, I wrote verbatim.
Next was this
4. Don’t worry about neatness. Listen, I have a scribbly type of hand-writing as it is, but in my notes I include the following: arrows, boxes, circles, scratch outs, X’s, smiley faces, stars, and more. It was a magnificent piece of art once I got done. LOL
Finally I had to
5. Make sure I could remember the notes later. This took a while to learn. There is nothing worse than taking notes that make sense in class, but once you get home and look at them again, you can’t remember a thing that you’ve written. As I got better at Taking Notes To Remember, the artwork concept developed.
Let this be your start to taking notes that you can remember and get in the practice of taking them often. With more online learning coming, your note taking will become more and more valuable! IN online learning, you can use your notes on tests and quizzes. Especially notes that are written down! Get those notes! You can’t cram everything into your head!
Tell me about your Note Taking experiences on Facebook! Go to Facebook and search – Mr. E! The Motivator!
You can also find the article in The Motivator! Magazine! – http://flip.it/rQcQN
Leave a Reply

